Last year, AP has got six and from Telangana, five persons were presented the awards.

This time, Telangana state has got more number of Padma Sri awards when compared Andhra Pradesh.

Chintakindi Mallesham (science and Technology) and V Koteswaramam have been given the awards from Andhra Pradesh.

Dr. Prof Aekka Yadagiri Rao (Sculpture), Sri Daripalli Ramaiah (Plant breeding), T Hanuman Chowdary (technology), Sri BVR Mohan Reddy (Industry), Dr Mohammed Abdul Waheed (Medicine), Sri Chandrakant Pithawi (Science and Engineering) were selected from Telangana.

Six persons have been selected for Padma Sri award from Telangana and from AP, only two were given this prestigious civilian awards.